Book Trivia: The Winners Of The Philip K. Dick Award


As you may (or may not) already be aware, The Philip K. Dick Award, established in honour of the acclaimed American science fiction author, was inaugurated in 1983; the year after his death. The ceremony is held annually at Norwescon, with the award being bestowed upon the best science fiction paperback novel published in the United States during the previous calendar year.

Below, I present you with the complete list of books (and their authors) that have received the prestigious honour.

Book Cover   Book Cover   Book Cover   Book Cover

1983: Software by Rudy Rucker
1984: The Anubis Gates by Tim Powers
1985: Neuromancer by William Gibson
1986: Dinner At Deviant’s Palace by Tim Powers
1987: Homunculus by James P. Blaylock
1988: Strange Toys by Patricia Geary
1989: (Joint Winner) Four Hundred Billion Stars by Paul J. McAuley
1989: (Joint Winner) Wetware by Rudy Rucker
1990: Subterranean Gallery by Richard Paul Russo
1991: Points Of Departure by Pat Murphy
1992: King Of Morning, Queen Of Day by Ian McDonald
1993: Through The Heart by Richard Grant
1994: (Joint Winner) Growing Up Weightless by John M. Ford
1994: (Joint Winner) Elvissey by Jack Womack
1995: Mysterium by Robert Charles Wilson
1996: Headcrash by Bruce Bethke
1997: The Time Ships by Stephen Baxter
1998: The Troika by Stepan Chapman
1999: 253 by Geoff Ryman
2000: Vacuum Diagrams by Stephen Baxter
2001: Only Forward by Michael Marshall Smith
2002: Ship Of Fools by Richard Paul Russo
2003: The Mount by Carol Emshwiller
2004: Altered Carbon by Richard Morgan
2005: Life by Gwyneth Jones
2006: War Surf by M.M. Buckner
2007: Spin Control by Chris Moriarty
2008: Nova Swing by M. John Harrison
2009: (Joint Winner) Emissaries From The Dead by Adam-Troy Castro
2009: (Joint Winner) Terminal Mind by David Walton
2010: Bitter Angels by C.L. Anderson
2011: The Strange Affair Of Spring Heeled Jack by Mark Hodder
2012: The Petrovitch Trilogy by Simon Morden
2013: Lost Everything by Brian Francis Slattery
2014: Countdown City by Ben H. Winters
2015: The Book of the Unnamed Midwife by Meg Elison
2016: Apex by Ramez Naam
2017: The Mercy Journals by Claudia Casper
2018: Theory Of Bastards by Audrey Schulman
2019: Sooner Or Later Everything Falls Into The Sea by Sarah Pinsker
2020: Road Out Of Winter by Alison Stine

Book cover   Book Cover   Book Cover   Book cover


I’m embarrassed to admit that I have only read one of the books on this list, the excellent, Altered Carbon by Richard Morgan. However, there are at least half a dozen others I’m definitely interested in reading. What about you? How many of these award winners have you read? Which ones are you interested in reading? Feel free to leave a comment below.


2 thoughts on “Book Trivia: The Winners Of The Philip K. Dick Award

Add yours

  1. I haven’t read much science fiction, so I’m not familiar with any of the books listed. But it’s interesting to see that so many women authors have won an award in a genre that people typically associate with male readers and writers.

    I will have to make a point of taking a look at some of these novels in the not too distant future.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: